Passing through the luminal

9 Mar

A luminal is defined in anatomical terms as a ‘passage, duct, or cavity in a tubular organ’. I like to think of it as a tunnel, or a tight passageway, with a light shining at the end.

In many ways this describes my experience of working on this project. I’d quit my job in Australia, taken a leap of faith in travelling to India and ended up on a new path – one more aligned with my values, with more creativity and freedom.

Challenging? Yes. Enlightening? Absolutely.

The simplest analogy I can use to explain how it felt, comes from an incident during the first week of my stay in Delhi.

I’d moved into a great flat with my own bathroom attached to the bedroom. One night I got up to use the toilet and found I’d unknowingly locked myself out of the bathroom.

Yes: 1am, a full bladder, and nowhere to go.

Fortunately, my housemate had been working late so I was able to use her bathroom and go back to sleep.

But I still needed my things – my glasses were in there.

The following morning my housemate asks her cleaning lady to bring a young man to crawl through a small window connecting our bathrooms, opening the locked door once inside.

I arrive home early to find the cleaning lady and her friend waiting for me. But there seems to have been some confusion about the ‘young man’ required for the job. They’d brought along her friend’s eight year old son!

I’m looking at the boy (those big brown eyes staring back at me), then up at the window, then back at the boy – think Old Spice Ad, only less amusing.

“Absolutely not,” I tell them. “Do you know how many international conventions on the rights of children we would be violating? Not to mention the extreme risk of skull fractures and spino-cerebral damage occurring? No, I will endeavour to resolve this problem myself”.

Given that no-one else spoke English, here’s what I really said: “No, me go”.

The bathroom window

Bit of a stretch alright

So, with a chair and a lot of hefting and heaving from the two sari clad ladies, I found myself suspended halfway through the window.

My head and chest were hanging into the locked room, one leg swinging like a pendulum in the other room and my other knee wedged up under my chin.

For one very long moment……………………………………………………………..I was stuck.

Going forward felt impossible, yet it didn’t feel like I could go back, not without squashing the women calling out hindi advice below me.

In an adrenalin-fuelled split second I learnt a lot about myself – about risk taking, fear facing and trust. Would I fall head first in the toilet bowl? Would my insurance cover this? Was I wearing clean underwear?…

zen quote to know oneself

Image courtesy of David Schiller's Zen Page-A-Day 2010 Calendar

Taking a deep breath, I visualised my little arms lowering me safely down into the room and then…

I let go.

Next thing I know I’m standing in the room and unlocking the door. I’m shaken (and stirred) but unharmed.

The women and small boy are with me, touching my reddened arms and knees, making sure I’m ok. We’re laughing as they tell me it’s lucky I’m not mota (fat).

It felt good to be on the other side.

zen quote flying

Image courtesy of David Schiller's Zen Page-A-Day 2010 Calendar

3 Responses to “Passing through the luminal”

  1. Kellie W March 9, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Nice story Liz! Have fun on your next adventure.
    K

    • Liz Franzmann March 10, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      Thanks for reading Kellie! It was an extraordinary experience…most definitely.
      All good things,
      Liz

  2. camcope January 13, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Haha, great story!

Leave a Reply

