Follow the Joy…

1 Sep

Hi, this is Liz. For the next 3 months I’ll be managing this blog (and other social media bits and twits) as part of my Endeavour Executive Award scholarship with Conserve India.

I don’t know about you, but my 2009 was just ‘nuts and bananas’ (Southeast Queensland speak for crazy).  The challenges came on all levels – career, health, relationships – everything seemed to be saying ‘change or suffer’.

But change to what? The future seemed uncertain; I was stuck in a proverbial rut. I might still be there but for a strange day reflecting on the question, ‘if not this, then what do I do with my life?’ The answer came out of the blue, as if someone had actually whispered in my ear: ‘Follow the joy’.

So here I am, jamming everything I’m curious and passionate about into one amazing adventure. Weirdly, it’s as if my random collection of previous experiences had also been leading me to this project: grappling with gender and human rights in Nepal, building a jazz festival website (clunky 2005 effort, but not bad for a first-timer), helping make a documentary celebrating sustainable events, assisting townships go plastic bag free, writing for an environmental journal, selling ginger products to retirees at the Brisbane Ekka

baglady

Unofficial shot from my days as the Sustainability Victoria 'baglady'

While drafting the CD2010 monitoring and evaluation framework (yep, for all you project junkies, there’ll be more on that later. C’mon, admit it: project planning is a little bit sexy)……………..anyways…I thought I’d introduce myself by sharing my personal goals for the project as well.

This morning I sketched out this simple spider diagram over chai at my new local chat house:

Liz's spider diagram of 5 goals

Liz's top 5 CD2010 personal goals

Basically, the 5 lines coming out from the centre point of the web represent areas I’d like to work on over the next 3 months. The diagram works by placing a dot on each line to show where you think you’re at (as you can see, am just starting out in most areas). The further out from the centre, the more improved or competent you feel you are. So this is what my first diagram captures:

The Centre – is zero or I got nuthin’

Health & Wellbeing – this is about being kind to my body, specifically with regular yoga practice, getting back to meditation and being caffeine free for a while. Furthest point away from the centre = super zen and feeling good in mind and body.

Computer Stuff – I bought a Macbook 6 months ago but still have so much to learn about using it, ditto for the Adobe Creative Suite – never even used Photoshop before! Furthest point away from the centre = I’ve become one of those people who just rave about Macs and I know the basics of Adobe CS3.

Social Media – closely related to the computer stuff. 3 months ago I’d never even really read a blog, let alone writing one. Same with Twitter and Facebook. Furthest point away from the centre = I’ve become a zealous social media user and advocate.

Creativity – I’d like to take better photos, write well for the web and update my wardrobe with some (low impact) fashion. Furthest point away from the centre = I have a collection of images and writing I love and am swanning around in some unique, eco-friendly, mojo-enhancing, indian fashion items.

Culture – learning some hindi, discovering some historical places and reading books and watching movies on Indian culture are high on my list. At the furthest point I’ve developed hindi conversational skills, I’ve read broadly and feel like I’ve developed greater understanding of India’s history and culture by living and working in Delhi.

We’ll be doing a similar diagram for the CD2010 project as a way of communicating our monitoring and evaluation goals. I hope to publish it here soon.

Cheers,

Liz

(Let the Games change begin!)

6 Responses to “Follow the Joy…”

  1. Rebecca September 1, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Great stuff Liz, well done on the start of your journey. Brill spider map 🙂 Don’t forget to link this article to your Twitter and Facebook. Best of luck and look forward to all future updates

    • Conserve India September 1, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

      Hey! Thanks Rebecca – lovely to see a familiar name here. Hmm, yes still working on the Twitter/Facebook side of things…
      Go well,
      Liz

  2. thecwordblog September 1, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    Great post Liz. And good luck with the meeting with organising committee. Jack

  3. Belinda September 2, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    I love how you’ve “followed the joy” and landed in something as fantastic as travelling to India to do something about sustainability. Brilliant.

    I’m looking forward to reading more.

    • Conserve India September 2, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      Hi Belinda, Thanks. We’re about to ramp up the blog posts so stay tuned…

  4. sam September 8, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Sports Minister M S Gill made announcement that Sports Ministry doubled the cash award for medal winners at the Commonwealth Games and the Asian Games. A gold medallist will now get Rs 20 lakh while silver medallists will be awarded Rs.10 lakh. The bronze medal winners will take home Rs 6 lakh.Check out latest updates of Commonwealth Games 2010

Leave a Reply

